Blackpool St. Mary's bus consultation, we need your help!

Please find a link to a letter form Mr Tierney, CEO of our trust about a very worrying consultation over our school bus arrangements. Please help us by contacting your local mp and Councillor to raise your concerns. Full details are in Mr Tierney's letter a copy of which will be sent home towards the end of this week,

Mr Eccles
Head Teacher

Section 48 and OFSTED Inspection success for St Mary’s.

St Marys hosted two sets of inspectors during last half term. Inspectors from Lancaster Diocese inspected the Catholic life of the Academy and also the provision of RE. They left confirming St Mary’s 

“is an outstanding Catholic Academy. Christ is at the centre of all it does and Gospel values permeate throughout. The leadership of the academy is outstanding as Directors and leaders are totally committed to the Church’s mission of high quality Catholic education for all. Staff are authentic witnesses to Gospel values and endeavour to live these out in their work with pupils, especially the most vulnerable.”

The Diocesan inspection was followed by a visit from OFSTED. They confirmed the excellent quality of education being offered at the school.  It leaves the academy as the only Ofsted good rated secondary school in Blackpool; a grading it has held continuously for over a decade.

The Ofsted inspectors were impressed with: the caring ethos that pervades the school; the great pride pupils have in attending St. Mary’s and parents’ appreciation of the exceptional efforts staff go to, in supporting and teaching all students.  The inspection team noted the comments of the overwhelming majority of parents; typically

‘The staff go above and beyond what is expected’ and ‘The staff clearly have the best interests of the children at heart’

A copy of the Diocesan report can be found at:

OFSTED letter can be found at


Scientists of the Year

Recently St Mary's students were awarded for their outstanding effort in science by being asked to attend the Blackpool Physical Science Awards ceremony held by the Ogden Trust. They all walked away with glistening awards in the following categories:

  • Hannah Villarino - KS3 Chemist of the year
  • Daniel Jones - KS3 Physicist of the year
  • Dominic Walker - Special prize for Year 10 Physicist of the year
  • Madison Ruocco - KS4 Chemist of the year
  • Toby Chick - KS4 Physicist of the year
  • Natasha Sierdzaki - KS5 Chemist of the year - Year 12
  • Matthew Jones - KS5 Chemist of the year - Year 13
  • Toby Ashton - KS5 Physicist of the year - Year 12
  • Alice Townsend - KS5 Physicist of the year - year 13

In addition to this, two of our STEM club members won awards for their fantastic entries to the Life in Space competition. Competing against local schools; Zerlinda De Vega - Year 8 and Yzabelle Demegillo - Year 7, both won trophies for their space menus.

Well done to all!
Miss Stephenson